1983 600a

1983 was the first year of the MX-III. Sorta, kinda. Till then all frames were Prolines or MX-II’s. Sorta, Kinda. When Redline first began sourcing complete bikes they got the parts from Japan but all the frame sets were made in the USA. Tose first complete bikes were called MX-III’s. But they really had a MX-II frame set. Then in 1983 they debuted an all new frame the MX-III. Follow? The MX-III frame would come on different complete bike models over the years. The first was the 1983 600a.

1983 600a Advertisement 1983 600a Product Probe

You may need to click on the headline to show the image. Then click on the thumbnail to see it full size. The Product Probe was in the Feb 83 issue of BMXA.

2 Comments

  1. I live in Cape Town, South Africa, and got a 1983 Redline 600a Series Three bmx.
    I won it in a competition in 1983 and never parted with the bmx, although I had many offers from people that wanted to buy it. I am the only person here that I know off that’s got this bmx.

    The bmx is still in a good condition but now I want to strip the decals and re-chrome the bmx and restore it to its original state, but before I do that I need to find a new set of original decals and also new grips for the handlebars.
    Where would I be able to get hold of it, because here in South Africa I can’t find any, and I searched on the net as well.

    If you can help me it would be great!!

  2. Great memories…..!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

